Hold Short Line Rwy 23 - Almost Kiss the Line?

15 replies to this topic

#1 Yodah

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Squadron:"None"
  • LocationColumbus, OH

Posted 19 December 2012 - 05:04 PM

It seems like while taxiing to the Rwy 23, the aircraft required stop (hold short) is practically on the line itself. During practice it is easy to gauge since you keep creeping up on it until the mission arrow disappears.

Im a real world pilot, and not wanting to TOUCH the line I apparently did not creep up enough to trigger the sensor. I did get a "Good Job" msg however. After, I was on my way, having crossed 24, a Failed Msg informed me that I did not stop at 23. My concern is that if I touch the hold short line, it's technically a violation.

Now I have a failure when I should not have. Maybe the stop area threshold needs to be widened a bit.

#2 Revelation

AWACS

• AWACS
  • 248 posts
  • Callsign:Revelation
  • Squadron:"VFA 25 Fist of the Fleet"
  • LocationVA

Posted 19 December 2012 - 05:11 PM

You do need to get close to the line. However, you also need to wait until you hear the verbal command, just like in the sim, that you are clear to taxi.

#3 Maverick

Post Master

• Administrators
  • 529 posts
  • Squadron:"VF 103 Jolly Rogers"

Posted 19 December 2012 - 05:14 PM

The simple rule that I use in the T-6 is that the runway line should be horizontal level with the bottom of your AOA indicator housing on the left hand side of the cockpit. Its a quick and easy method to make sure you are in the zone each time :)
Remember - The Search Box is your friend ;)

#4 Wildman

SpamKiller

• Administrators
  • 313 posts
  • Squadron:"VMFA 323 Death Rattlers"
  • LocationColumbus, Ohio

Posted 19 December 2012 - 09:21 PM

Revelation as always has a good point...I learned to give it 15-20 seconds and got myself into habit of scanninig left,right,left.
Semper Fi

Wildman out

#5 Yodah

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • LocationColumbus, OH